01 NOVEMBER 2022

The Commission for the Promotion and Protection of the Rights of Cultural, Religious and Linguistic Communities welcomes the reconstituted National House of Traditional and Khoi-San Leaders which was done in line with the reconstitution of all Provincial Houses of Traditional and Khoi-San Leaders and also guided by the Traditional and Khoi-San Leadership Act, 2019 (Act No 3 of 2019).

The Commission wishes the newly elected leadership well in their mandate and responsibilities and believes that Kgosi Seatlholo who was elected as the New Chairperson and INkosi Langa Mavuso as his Deputy will take the National House of Traditional and Khoi-San Leaders to greater heights.

The Commission further applauds the fact that Kgosi Seatlholo who hails from a rural village of Lotlhakane in Mahikeng will ensure that during his tenure he advances the course of rural communities in the country so that socio-economic development is not disproportionately enjoyed by those who live in towns or suburbs whilst those who live in rural areas remain permanently disadvantaged or poor.

Furthermore, the Commission believes that Kgosi Seatlholo will bring the wealth of leadership experience and expertise which he demonstrated when he served as a Senior Traditional Leader at Barolong Boo Rapulana Traditional Community in Lotlhakane, a position which he has been holding since 2014, but also when he was a member of the North West House of Traditional and Khoisan Leaders, particularly, when he was serving in different committees such as the Justice and Constitutional

Development Committee. For that reason, the Commission hopes that he will be able to advance and promote the role of traditional leadership within the constitutional dispensation, promote development, nation-building, social and economic cohesion.

The Chairperson of the CRL Rights Commission, Prof David Mosoma has re- affirmed the Commission’s commitment and its readiness to always work with the National House of Traditional and Khoi-San Leaders, especially being guided by its mandate as expressed in the CRL Rights Act number 19 of 2002 which mandates it to (a) promote respect for and further the protection of the rights of cultural, religious and linguistic communities; (b) promote and develop peace, friendship, humanity, tolerance and national unity among and within cultural, religious and linguistic communities, on the basis of equality, non-discrimination, and free association; (c) foster mutual respect among cultural, religious and linguistic communities; (d) promote the right of communities to develop their historically diminished heritage; (e) recommend the establishment or recognition of community councils in accordance with section 36 or 37.

For any enquiries, you can contact:

Mpiyakhe Mkholo – 083 659 4974

Beverley Mukhavhuli – 072 394 4075


Download Media Statement